Start with Joy

  • Title:Start with Joy: Designing Literacy Learning for Student Happiness
  • Author:Katie Egan Cunningham
  • Publication Date:September 2019
  • Grade Level:K-8
  • ISBN:9781625312839
  • Publisher:Stenhouse

Start with Joy: Designing Literacy Learning for Student Happiness links what we know from the science of happiness with what we know about effective literacy instruction. By examining characters in the books they read, children develop empathy for others and come to understand that we all struggle and we all love. When given a choice about what to write, children express hopes, fears, and reactions to life’s experiences. Literacy learning is full of opportunities for students to learn tools to live a happy life. 

Inside, you’ll find:

  • Seven Pillars: The author offers seven pillars that will make classrooms more joyful, engaging, and purposeful—Connection, Choice, Challenge, Play, Story, Discovery, and Movement.
  • Ten Invitations: These ten lessons may be presented at any time of year in the context of any unit and include children’s literature suggestions, as well as, recommended teacher talk to meet children’s specific needs.
  • Teaching Tools: Tools and resources that will help students tell their stories and make literacy learning something all students celebrate and cherish.

This book honors the adventure that learning is meant to be. By infusing school days with happiness, teachers can support children as they become stronger readers, writers, and thinkers, while also helping them learn that strength comes from challenge, and joy comes from leading a purposeful life.

List Price $39.95
Your Price $31.95
You Save $8.00

Customer Reviews

Write a Review


Email Address